top of page

Holy Sacraments


Baptism is the first sacrament Catholics receive. At Baptism we are sealed as belonging to Christ. In the Sacrament of Baptism, we are welcomed into the Church and become children of God. Although many Catholics may be baptized as infants or young children, a person can be baptized at any age. During the Sacrament of Baptism, the immersion into water symbolizes that the person being baptized dies to sin and reses to new life in Christ, purified and sanctified. In Baptism, we are freed from original sins and our personal sins are forgiven.

First Communion

First Holy Communion is considered one of the holiest and most important occasions in a Roman Catholic person's life. It is the first time that a person receives the Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist, which is the eating of consecrated bread and drinking of consecrated wine.


In the Sacrament of Confirmation, we are sealed with the Gift of the Holy Spirit. Confirmation deepens the grace received at Baptism, and like Baptism we receive the Sacrament of Confirmation only once. Confirmation strengthens us to live as Christ’s followers. Through Confirmation, we become more Christ-like and are strengthened to be active witnesses of Jesus. Our relationship with the Church is strengthened as well; we are sent forth to live our faith in the world. Those who have prepared to celebrate the Sacrament of Confirmation, called candidates, are usually confirmed by a bishop during the celebration of the sacrament.


In the Sacrament of Matrimony, a man and woman become husband and wife and promise to by faithful to each other for the rest of their lives. Matrimony unites a married couple as loving partners and strengthens them to live out their promises to Christ and to one another. During the sacrament, the couple’s love is blessed and strengthened by the grace of the sacrament. The bride and groom are the celebrants in the Sacrament of Matrimony and the priest or deacon acts as a witness and blesses the union that God has joined together. Married couples serve the Catholic Church and by sharing the Gospel in their families, homes, and communities.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation brings about a change of heart through God's mercy and forgiveness. Reconciliation (also known as Confession or Penance) is a sacrament instituted by Jesus Christ in His love and mercy to offer sinners forgiveness for offenses committed against God.

Anointing the Sick

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick is offered to those who are very sick or near death. Family, friends, and parish members gather to pray for God’s healing and mercy. The priest and those gathered pray that the sick person might be healed, and the priest anoints the sick person and prays of their health. Those who receive the sacrament are given the grace to respond to their illness with hope and strengthens their faith in a loving God. This sacrament may be celebrated during Mass or anywhere it is needed, including at the home or hospital of the sick person. Catholics can celebrate this sacrament more than once.

Additional Wedding Information

Hawaii Catholic Engaged Encounter

The Engaged Encounter Weekend offers couples a unique opportunity to look at their commitment to each other in a deeper way as they prepare for marriage.

Planning your Catholic Wedding

Please refer to the Diocese of Honolulu for further information & required documentation.  

Visitors Wishing to Marry in Hawaii

Please refer to the Diocese of Honolulu for further information & required documentation.  

bottom of page